ACIS Logo 2014 ACIS Book and Dissertation Prizes

The American Conference for Irish Studies is pleased to announce the winners of its 2014 book and dissertation prize competitions. ACIS annually recognizes five books and one graduate dissertation for their contribution to the field of Irish Studies in the disciplines of social sciences, history, literature, and the Irish language. Winners will be recognized on June 14th at the ACIS General Meeting at this year’s national conference at University College Dublin. Information on these prizes and on this year’s awards committees can be found on the ACIS website.

The 2014 winners for books published in 2013 are:

Rhodes Prize for Literature and Language

Edna Longley, Yeats and Modern Poetry (Cambridge University Press)longley

Duais Leabhar Taighde na Bliana Fhoras na Gaeilge/The ACIS Award for Books in the Irish Language

Lesa Ní Mhunghaile, Ré Orga na nGael (An Clóchomhar Tta)mhunghaile

James S. Donnelly, Sr., Prize for Books on History and Social Sciences

William Jenkins, Between Raid and Rebellion: The Irish in Buffalo and Toronto, 1867-1916 (McGill-Queen’s University Press)william

Donald Murphy Prize for Distinguished First Books
Benjamin Bankhurst, Ulster Presbyterians and the Scots Irish Diaspora, 1750-1764 (Palgrave/Macmillan)

Adele Dalsimer Prize for Distinguished Dissertation

Ailbhe Ní Ghearbhuigh, “An Fhrainc Iathghlas? Tionchar na Fraince ar Athbheochan na Gaeilge, 1893-1922” (NUI, Galway)

Michael J. Durkan Prize for Books on Language and Culture

Colin Graham, Northern Ireland: 30 Years of Photography (Belfast Exposed)belfast