Book and Dissertation Prizes

The 2019 competition for books published in 2018 is now open. To submit a book for prize consideration, please send one copy to each of the prize committee members listed in the “Prize Details” section linked under each prize name. To meet the prize deadline, submissions must be postmarked by January 20, 2019.

The American Conference for Irish Studies sponsors five book prizes annually for scholarship on Irish subjects, open to books published worldwide. It also sponsors a sixth prize for the year’s outstanding dissertation on a subject related to Irish Studies. These prizes are:

The winners are recognized at the annual ACIS National Meeting, where the selection committee’s encomium is read during the ACIS luncheon and business meeting. Each prize includes a cash award of $500 for the author.

ACIS will also announce the award winners in a press release and on its website. ACIS will also publish a display ad announcing the winners in The Irish Literary Supplement.


All books submitted for these awards must have a publication date matching the year of the award. All dissertations must have been defended in the same year as the award year. Anyone, including the author, may submit books for consideration. ACIS members may nominate a book by contacting the relevant committee chair, who will then contact the publisher. Edited collections, fiction, poetry, and anthologies of literature are not eligible. Dissertations nominated for the Dalsimer Prize may be submitted to the committee electronically as .pdf files.

Please note that only single author texts will be considered. No book may compete for more than one of the three disciplinary prizes (Donnelly, Durkan, Rhodes), but an author’s first scholarly monograph (or collection of original essays) may be submitted to the Murphy prize committee in addition to one of the three disciplinary committees. Authors may contact the committee chair to determine whether their book has been submitted for a prize. Prize chairs may choose to reassign entered works.

Submission Instructions

Authors and nominators should be guided by what academic audience the book addresses. Books addressed primarily to historians and/or social scientists should go to the Donnelly committee. Books addressed primarily to literary scholars should go to the Rhodes committee. Books that are addressed to students of language or culture (including the visual and performing arts) should go to the Durkan committee. Books addressed to an interdisciplinary audience (e.g., works in cultural studies, gender studies, and postcolonial studies) may be submitted to any one of the book award committees. Please do not send copies of books to ACIS officers.

For more information contact the chair of the ACIS awards committee, Professor Kate Costello-Sullivan ( and/or the relevant book prize committee chair listed under the respective “Prize Details” above. For questions on e-book submissions, please contact the prize committee chair.