Adele Dalsimer Prize for Distinguished Dissertation

Prize Committee

An electronic version of the dissertation should be sent to each of the following committee members by email. To meet the prize deadline, submissions must be received by January 20, 2019.

  • Dr. Kate Costello-Sullivan (Committee Chair)
    Le Moyne College
    1419 Salt Springs Road
    Syracuse NY 13214
    Contact the committee chair at with questions about this prize.
  • Dr. Ely Janis
    Dept. of History, Political Science and Public Policy
    Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
    North Adams, MA 01247
  • Dr. Lisa Weihman
    P.O. Box 6296
    100 Colson Hall
    Department of English
    West Virginia University
    Morgantown, WV 26506-6296

About this Prize

Adele Dalsimer (1939-2000), inspiring teacher, scholar, and dynamic Irish Studies pioneer, graduated from Mount Holyoke College, received an MA from Hunter College, and a PHD from Yale University—in addition to honorary degrees from University College Dublin, Ulster University, and Mount Holyoke College. Her publications include Kate O’Brien: A Critical Study, The Unappeasable Shadow: Shelley’s Influence on Yeats, and Visualizing Ireland: National Identity and the Pictorial Tradition.

Adele joined the English Department of Boston College in 1969, and with historian Kevin O’Neill, co-founded the Irish Studies Program there in 1978, co-directing it until her death. She and Kevin created a major center for Irish literature, history, music, and visual art in North America; helped establish the position of the University’s annual Burns Scholar for visiting academics in Irish Studies; and produced a generation of scholars who now teach and lecture in the US, Canada, Ireland, and beyond. The ACIS Adele Dalsimer Prize for Distinguished Dissertation reflects her major commitment to identifying and training scholars and teachers in the field she played such a major role in establishing.